Interactive Bar

Google Services





Log In

St Ethelbert's Catholic Primary School

I Serve Jesus With My Body, Heart, Mind and Soul


Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

St. Ethelbert’s Catholic Primary School Governing Body follows the circle model of governance and meets six times a year. Governors are not paid at all and give up enormous amounts of their free time to help the school. They visit the school and develop the school ethos and values to give the very best possible educational experience to all the children that go through the doors from Nursery to Year 6. The Catholic Church appoints the majority of Governors, called Foundation Governors. Other Stakeholder Governors are elected by the school staff, parents and Kent County Council.

Full Governing Body on June 3rd 2019:

Mrs C Turner - Foundation Governor - Chair

Fr S Heans - Foundation Governor

Mrs M Francis - Foundation Governor

Mr S Kelly - Foundation Governor - Joint Vice Chair

Miss A Taylor - Staff Governor

Mrs S. Beaumont - Parent Governor -Joint Vice Chair

Mrs S Collins – Headteacher Governor – Interim Executive Headteacher

Mrs K Lockwood - Deputy Headteacher - Associate member

Resignations 2018/2019:

Father Marcus Holden – Foundation Governor

Mr P Wilson – Parent Governor

KCC CLERK - Mrs K Metcalfe

Current vacancies:

Foundation Governor: 3, LA Governor: 1, Parent Governor: 1

If you wish to communicate with any of the above School Governors over any matters, please do not hesitate to let the school office know and they will arrange a suitable time for the Governor to meet you and/or make contact with you.

Each of the Governors of St Ethelbert's Catholic Primary is allocated a class to take on the role of Class Governor. This Governor will visit the class and the staff members about 3 times a year and will try to attend special class events.

Class allocations for 2018/19:

Nursery - Mr S. Kelly

Reception - Mrs M. Francis

Year 1 - Mrs S. Beaumont

Year 2 - Mrs M. Francis

Year 3 - Mrs S. Beaumont

Year 4 - Mrs C. Turner

Year 5 - Mr P. Wilson

Year 6 - Fr S Heans

At the May 2019 FGB meeting, the governors decided to monitor each of the Phases throughout the school:

Early Years: Mrs M. Francis/ Mrs S. Beaumont

Key Stage 1: Mr S. Kelly

Key Stage 2: Mrs C. Turner/ Fr S Heans

The Governors also work in pairs to make these visits, normally working in an area they have a specialist knowledge in or a keen interest in.

Appointment of Designated Governors for 2018/2019

Pupil wellbeing, RE and Community - Father Heans

SEN/AEN - Mr S Kelly and Mrs S Beaumont

Looked after children - Mr S Kelly and Mrs S Beaumont

Training and Development - Mrs M Francis

Health and Saftey - Mr S Kelly and Mrs C Turner

E-Safety - Mrs C Turner and Mr S Kelly

Safeguarding - Mrs C Turner and Mr S Kelly

Partnership with Parents - Mrs C Turner, Mr P Wilson and Mrs S Beaumont

Budget Monitoring - Mr P Wilson, Father Heans, Mrs C Turner

Pupil Premium - Mrs C Turner and Mrs M Francis

PE Premium - Mrs C Turner and Mr P Wilson

Policies and Website - Mrs S Beaumont

Headteacher's Performance Management - Mrs C Turner and Mrs M Francis

 Currently, no governor has a business interest to declare. This status is updated at the start of each meeting.

Mrs Claire Turner is also a Governor of The Ursuline College, Westgate-on-sea, Kent. Mrs Turner's daughter is an apprentice in the school nursery.

Mr Peter Wilson is also a Governor of Sir Roger Manwood's Grammar School, Sandwich, Kent.

The Clerk to the Governors is trained by and supplied by Kent County Council. Kim Metcalfe monitors all attendance at these meetings.